July 2020

Essay planning meetings typically take place in-person at Panera Bread in Los Alamitos. Due to Covid-19 closures, meetings will temporarily take place via FaceTime. Meetings times are 10 to 11:30 on Tuesday, Thursdays, and Saturdays. The following dates are open:

Thursday, July 9 – Booked

Saturday, July 11 – Open

Tuesday, July 14 – Booked

Thursday, July 16 – Open

Saturday, July 18 – Open

Tuesday, July 21 – Booked

Thursday, July 23 – Booked

Saturday, July 25 – Open

Tuesday, July 28 – Booked

Thursday, July 30 – Open

To book your meeting date, please email me 1) the school you want to discuss and its essay requirements (prompt, word count, and deadline), 2) your resume or activities list for my reference, 3) two meeting dates choices, and 4) email address of person to contact for $100 non-refundable meeting deposit.

At essay planning meetings, students discuss their interests, activities, intended major, and essay ideas. I help them select a topic and send them a topic summary after. That way, they don’t have to take notes during the meeting or remember everything we covered. All they need to do is talk.

Planning meetings are for students who don’t have a draft and don’t know how or where to start. For students who have a draft, a meeting is not necessary. All they need to do is email me their draft for review. Even if their draft is in the early stages, even if they feel like it may be too rough, even if they are embarrassed to share it–no worries! A draft review (at any stage of the writing process) will help them continue working on their story with confidence and a clear direction.

Thanks for sharing!

Author: Alison

Alison Cotter helps individuals tell their story. Whether it's a college application essay or a personal memoir, Alison guides her clients through the process of finding their story and getting it on paper.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *